شهادات المتطوعين

يعتمد المركز على مساعدة المتطوعين من جميع أنحاء العالم. بدون دعمهم لن يكون المركز ممكنا.

كايلين

كاليفورنيا، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية

2013

لا يمكن للكلمات أن تصف التجربة التي مررت بها في مركز الإنقاذ في لامبيدوزا. وصلت مع معرفة قليلة بالسلاحف البحرية ومجال دراسي غير مرتبط. انتهزت الفرصة للتطوع في هذه الجزيرة المتوسطية الجميلة بعد فصل دراسي رائع من الدراسة في الخارج في إسبانيا. لم أكن أعرف أن القرار العفوي الذي اتخذته سيغير نظرتي إلى الحياة تمامًا.

المتطوعون هنا يصبحون عائلة ، مع دانييلا كأم! نعمل جميعًا ونضحك ونطبخ ونأكل ونسترخي على الشاطئ ونتعلم معًا. إنه جميل لأننا لا نساعد فقط هذه الأنواع المهددة بالانقراض ولكننا أيضًا أنشأنا ذكريات عزيزة ستدوم مدى الحياة. لأولئك المتطوعين المحتملين منكم ، أوصي بشدة بهذه الفرصة. يمكنني أن أضمن تقريبًا أنك لن تشعر بخيبة أمل!

نورا

فلوريدا ، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية

2013

أنا طالب في السنة الأولى بجامعة ييل مهتم بالبيولوجيا والسياسة البيئية. سمعت عن المنظمة من صديق يعمل مع السلاحف البحرية في فلوريدا ، وقررت المجيء إلى هنا للحصول على خبرة مباشرة في مجال الحفظ وعلم الأحياء. لقد أقدر رؤية تأثيرات السياسات البحرية المختلفة وآمل أن أكتب تقريرًا لمدرستي بناءً على تجربتي هنا.

أحببت الطبخ مع زملائي الجدد والمتطوعين الآخرين ورؤية الجمال الطبيعي لهذه الجزيرة المتوسطية. أوصي بالتطوع هنا لأي شخص يهتم بالبيئة ، وعلى استعداد لتسخير أيديهم ، ويأمل في التعرف على ثقافات جديدة.

تحقق من مدونتي لمعرفة ما تعلمته ، وكيف عشت وما يمكنك تجربته!

أميديو

فيرونا ، إيطاليا

2012-2013

جئت إلى مركز الإنقاذ في لامبيدوزا في سبتمبر 2012 كطالب متخرج في علم الأحياء البحرية بجامعة بيزا ، بمشروع يتعلق بالتفاعل بين السلاحف البحرية وطيور القوارب. هذا العام هو مغامرتي الثانية في لامبيدوزا ويمكنني أن أقول بكل قلبي إن هذه كانت واحدة من أجمل التجارب في حياتي! من وجهة نظر مهنية ، فقد تم إثراء وتقوية معرفتي بهذه الحيوانات الرائعة ، مع مساعدتي أيضًا في فهم وجهة نظر الإنسان. أحب كيف أتاح لي هذا الفرصة لإنشاء روابط مع أشخاص غير عاديين من جميع أنحاء العالم وساعدني على النمو من خلال تجربتي في مواقف مختلفة.

أليساندرو

ليفورنو ، إيطاليا

2012-2013

أنا طالب في علم الأحياء البحرية بجامعة بيزا. هذه هي سنتي الثانية كمتطوع هنا ، حيث أقوم بجمع البيانات من أجل أطروحتي. خلال هذا الوقت تعلمت وفهمت أهمية السلاحف البحرية ، والقيمة الثمينة لهذه الأنواع المهددة بالانقراض. من أجل الحفاظ على هذا النوع ، فإنه ينطوي على التزام المتطوعين والصيادين والسياح وخفر السواحل.

مارينا

بولونيا ، إيطاليا

1994 - 2013

أنا طبيب بيطري أعمل على السلاحف البحرية منذ ما يقرب من 15 عامًا. بدأ حبي للسلاحف البحرية منذ فترة طويلة في منطقة البحر الكاريبي (سانت لوسيا) ، حيث أتيحت لي الفرصة كطالب تبادل لرؤية أول سلحفاة بحرية لي ، وهي من جلد الظهر. منذ ذلك الحين ، نما هذا الحب أقوى وأقوى ، مما دفعني إلى اتخاذ معظم القرارات التي اتخذتها في حياتي ، مثل التخرج في الطب البيطري ، لإكمال الدكتوراه في علم السموم البيئية وما بعد الدكتوراه في المكسيك ، ولكن لا شيء من هذه الأشياء كان من الممكن أن يكون ممكنًا دون اختيار الذهاب إلى لامبيدوزا واختباري كمتطوع ، واكتشاف أشياء جديدة يومًا بعد يوم عن تلك الحيوانات المدهشة.

surgery.jpg
جوزي

بريستول ، المملكة المتحدة

2020-2021

أنا طالبة في علم الأحياء في جامعة سوري. أقوم حاليًا بإجراء عام التنسيب هنا لجمع البيانات وتشغيل وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. أنا أحب الطريقة التي يتم بها التعامل مع هذه التجربة وكيف يتم تقييم رأيي من قبل الأشخاص من حولي. لقد تعلمت الكثير عن بيولوجيا السلاحف البحرية وإعادة التأهيل وأيضًا مدى أهمية التعليم والتوعية لضمان الحفاظ عليها.

IMG_0871.JPG
جوزي

بريستول ، المملكة المتحدة

2020-2021

أنا في Lampedusa Turtle Rescue كمواضع خلال دراستي في العلوم البيولوجية حيث أنا متخصص في علم البيئة وسلوك الحيوان. بالإضافة إلى دراسة السلاحف ، أقوم بتطوير العديد من المهارات في الاتصال العلمي وإدارة وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ، والتي أنا متحمس لها للغاية.

Volunteer Testimonies

The center relies on the help of volunteers from all stretches of the world. Without their support the center would not be possible.

Kaylyn

California, USA

2013

Words cannot describe the experienced that I had at Lampedusa Rescue Center. I arrived with little knowledge of sea turtles and a non-related field of study. I seized the opportunity to volunteer on this beautiful Mediterranean island after a wonderful semester of studying abroad in Spain. Little did I know that the spontaneous decision I made would change my outlook on life completely. 

The volunteers here become a family, with Daniela as the mom! We all work, laugh, cook, eat, relax on the beach, and learn together. It is beautiful because not only do we help this endangered species but we also created cherished memories that will last a lifetime. For those of you potential volunteers, I highly recommend this opportunity. I can almost guarantee that you will not be dissapointed!

Nora

Florida, USA

2013

I am a first year student at Yale interested in biology and environmental policy. I heard about the organization from a friend who works with sea turtles in Florida, and decided to come here to have first-hand experience in the field of conservation and biology. I have appreciated seeing the effects of different marine policies and hope to write a report for my school based on my experience here.

I loved cooking with my new housemates, the other volunteers, and seeing the natural beauty of this Mediterranean island. I would recommend volunteering here to anyone that cares about the environment, is willing to get their hands dirty, and hoping to learn about new cultures. 

Check out my blog to find out what I learned, how I lived and what you can experience!

Amedeo

Verona, Italy

2012-2013

I came to Lampedusa Rescue Center in September, 2012 as a graduated student of Marine Biology at Pisa University, with a project concerning the interaction between sea turtles and boaters. This year is my second adventure at Lampedusa and I can say whole heartedly that this has been one of the most beautiful experiences of my life! On a professional point of view it has been enriched and strengthened my knowledge of these wonderful animals, while also helping me understand  the human point of view. I love how this has given me the opportunity to create links with extraordinary people from all over the world and has helped me to grow by testing me in different situations.

Alessandro

Livorno, Italy

2012-2013

I am a student of Marine Biology of Pisa University. This is my second year as a volunteer here, where I’m collecting data for my thesis. During this time I learned and understand the importance of sea turtles, and the precious value of this endangered species. In order to preserve this speciesit involves the commitment of volunteers, fishermen, tourists and Coast Guard.

 

Marina

Bologna, Italy

1994 - 2020

I am a vet working on sea turtles for almost 15 years. My love for sea turtles started long time ago in the Carribean (St.Lucia), where as an exchange student I had the chance to see my first sea turtle, a leatherback. Since then this love has grown stronger and stronger, leading me to take most of the decisions I took in my life, such as to graduate in Veterinary Medicine, to complete a PhD in ecotoxicology and a  post PhD in Mexico, but none of these things could have been possible without choosing to go in Lampedusa and to test me as a volunteer,  discovering day by day new things about those amazing animals.

surgery.jpg
Josie

Bristol, UK

2020-2021

I am a Biology Student at Surrey University.  I'm currently doing my placement year here collecting data and running the social media. I love how hands on this experience is and how my opinion is valued by the people around me.  I have learnt so much about sea turtles biology and rehabilitation and also how important education and awareness is to ensure conservation. 

 

IMG_0871.JPG
Denise

lisboa, portugal

2020-2021

As an Animal Biology & Ecology student, choosing Lampedusa Turtle Rescue for my placement year was easy. Working with sea turtles was an opportunity that I wouldn't be able to have where I come from. But truly, I was not ready for what was coming next.

Denise came here, but the Denise leaving is not the same. Everyday I learned something new about Italian culture, about sea turtle conservation and rehabilitation, but even about myself. I have explored my interest in animal behaviour and found my passion for science communication.

And I am grateful to everyone I met, especially Daniela Freggi. In the future, I hope I can be at least a fraction of the person you are, my forever mentor.

It wasn't always easy but I would choose it all over again, every time.